cubingcow's website

Home Blog Cube Reviews YouTube Channel

Adding Center-Edge Magnets to my Gan Infinity 356 X v2

December 11, 2021

< Back to Blog Homepage

Let's start this off by asking a simple question: Why am I doing this? Well, when I got my Gan Infinity cube, I was a big fan of my DaYan TengYun (which I heavily recommend for anyone who loves really, REALLY smooth cubes). So, in my desire to emulate it, I chose the weakest possible magnets. Of course this did not exactly work out. The cube's magnets ended up being so weak that they failed to compensate for its flexibility. I needed to increase magnetic strength somehow. Since the strongest magnet option was 3x2mm, and the weakest was 3x1.5mm, I bought N50 2x0.5mm magnets, because initially I was going to just stack them on top of the already existing magnets in the corner pieces, but even 0.5mm thick magnets were too much for the corner caps to fit properly, as it looks like Gan increased the overall thickness of the plastic surrounding the magnet to compensate for the thinner magnet. Onto plan B: I was going to add center-edge magnets to my Gan Infinity cube, Valk 3 Elite style.